Skip to main content
Abu Dhabi to field all-Emirati crews in Augustow

Chris Davies on 13th July 2021

Team Abu Dhabi will travel to Poland this weekend for the first round of the UIM World Circuit Endurance championship, a title they won when it was last competed for in 2019.

Two years ago the team had already competed in the 24 Heures Motonautiques de Rouen, they took those points to Augustow and secured the first of four world powerboat racing championships.

Two-times F2 world champion Rashed Al Qemzi, a member of the 2019 winning crew, teams up with his cousin, vastly experienced F1H20 driver Thani Al Qemzi, and Mansoor Al Mansoori in Abu Dhabi 1 for the Necko Endurance.

Rashed Al Tayer, another member of the winning crew two years ago, is aboard Abu Dhabi 2 this time with Majed Al Mansoori, Rashed Al Remeithi and Mohamed Al Mehairbi, who won the second race in Poland two years ago to finish runners up overall in the series.

The fourth member of that crew, Faleh Al Mansoori, has been ruled out by a hand injury, but Team Abu Dhabi are still able to take an all-Emirati driver line-up into the championship for the first time.

While the title will ultimately be decided by the second and final round in Rouen, France in October, Team Manager Guido Cappellini knows events on Poland’s Necko Lake at the weekend could be crucial.

As the team underwent testing on Lake Como in Italy today before heading to Augustow, he said:

Experience in this event is the key to winning it, and that’s why we have a world champion in each of our boats.

We want to give the other drivers a push, and are motivating and inspiring them by putting them alongside two drivers who know what it takes to win the world title.

Among those trying to beat Team Abu Dhabi to this year’s world title is Italian Tullio Abbate, who was a member of their winning crew in 2019.

Four months after that success, Abate was rushed to hospital following a racing accident on Lake Como which left him with a fractured vertebra in the middle of his back.

He returns to action in Poland for the first time since that accident alongside Marit Strømøy, Norway’s first lady of F1H20 racing, Monaco’s Giacomo Sacchi and Spain’s Hector Sanz.

After Friday’s official practice, city centre parade and opening ceremony in Augustow, the first of two six-hour races gets under way at 9am the following morning, with race two starting at 11am on Sunday.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email