Skip to main content
Chiappe now leads the F4-s Championship

Chris Davies on 8th December 2018

Tom Chiappe from France dominated the Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi F4-s racing this weekend with 2 Pole Positions and 2 race wins.

His 40 points hoist the young Frenchman to the top of the Championship.

Britain’s Sam Whittle took two second places giving him another 30 points towards his title aspirations.

Whittle is now third overall and heads to Sharjah next week just 5 points behind Chiappe and Max Stilz.

His father and Team Manager Keith said after the race:

We have got to be happy with that, Tom was a class apart this weekend.

Sam beat the rest of the competition and is now really close to the top of the leader board.

I plan to have a debrief back at our Race HQ, Hemingway’s tonight.


Alexander Lindholm pulled away from the original green flag before the boats were pulled back again for a restart.

The Finn was on top again at the second attempt and he gradually began to pull away from Chiappe, Whittle and Ahmed Al-Fahim.

The Team Amaravati driver maintained a 4.79-second advantage through five laps and the pursuing nine boats held station heading into laps, six and seven until Rudolf Mihaldinecz hit trouble and slipped out of the running.

After a short yellow flag delay because of a loose turn buoy, action recommenced and Chiappe managed to snatch the lead and stamp his authority on proceedings.

Whittle and Al-Fahim trailed in his wake and Lindholm slipped to fourth.

The Frenchman held to through the remaining laps – and a late yellow because there were balloons on the course – to seal the race win.


1st) Tom Chiappe

2nd) Sam Whittle + 3.66

3rd) Alexander Lindholm + 7.93

4th) Max Stilz + 10.05

5th) Ali Allanjawi + 11.47

6th) Mohammed Al Mehairbi + 13.86

7th) Bingchen Wu + 23.41

8th) Ahmad Al Fahim + 24.68

9th) Rashed Al Remeithh + L3

Rudolf Mihaldinecz RET

Camille Broutechoux DNS

2018 F4 Trophy – positions after race 10:

1. Tom Chiappe (FRA) Emirates Racing Team 105pts

1. Max Stilz (DEU) Blaze Performance 105pts

3. Sam Whittle (GBR) F1 Atlantic Team 100pts

4. Mohammed Al-Mehairbi (UAE) Team Abu Dhabi 98pts

5. Ahmed Al-Fahim (UAE) Victory Team 69pts

6. Alexander Lindholm (FIN) Team Amaravati 53pts

7. Wu Bingchen (CHN) CTIC F1 China Team 49pts

8. Pedro Fortuna (PRT) Team Sweden 35pts

9. Ben Jelf (GBR) Team Amaravati 27pts

10. Rudolf Mihaldinecz (HUN) Mad-Croc Baba Racing Team 22pts

11. Xavier Autard (FRA) Maverick Racing 21pts

12. Quentin Dailly (FRA) Maverick Racing 17pts

13. Camille Broutechoux (FRA) Maverick Racing 8pts

14. Ali Allanjawi (UAE) Victory Team 7pts

14. Joris Colleret (FRA) Maverick Racing 7pts

16. Rashed Al-Remeithi (UAE) Team Abu Dhabi 6pts

17. Louise Vella (AUS) Mad-Croc Baba Racing Team 5pts

18. Ian Gonsalves (GUY) Maverick Racing 3pts

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
More on