Skip to main content
Comparato’s stunning Tonsberg Pole

Chris Davies on 4th August 2018

The Tonsberg UIM F2 qualifying was split into three sessions with nine boats in each, although Q1 was also split into three 20-minute heats because of the size of the field and the fact that a maximum of 18 boats will start Sunday’s race on the revised course. 

Changeable weather conditions prevailed at the start of the session, where Oskar Samuelsson suffered technical problems and Hagin carded the target time of 41.63sec.

Rashed Al-Qemzi all but assured his passage into Q2 with a run of 41.75sec and the duo were eventually joined in Q2 by Tobias Munthe-Kaas, Frode Sundsdal and Ferdinand Zandbergen with Samuelsson, Mansoor Al-Mansoori, Mette Bjerknaes and Owen Jelf being eliminated.

Al-Qemzi topped the times with a lap of 41.19sec in a session that ended in heavy rain and a strengthening wind.

Al-Tayer was drawn in heat two that started in improving conditions after a slight delay. Konstantin Ustinov set the early target with a 42.53sec run but that was surpassed by Daniel Segenmark’s lap of 42.34sec.

Rashed Al-Tayer moved into fourth place with a 4319sec tour and Ustinov regained the lead with a 41.97 in calm conditions.

Alex Carella, Gavin Bricker, Rupert Temper and Kalle Viippo were eliminated and Ustinov, Segenmark, Edgaras Riabko, Al-Tayer and Spaniard Héctor Sanz made it through to Q2. Segenmark won the heat with a 41.84sec lap.

Christian Carlsen and Bimba Sjöholm made it through the third of the Q1 heats with a joint winning time of 42.19sec. The Norwegian and the Swede were joined in Q2 by Alberto Comparato, Johan Österberg and Ola Pettersson. Rookie Lars Erik Andresen, Nick Bisterfeld and Sebastien Haugaard were eliminated as the session finished in darkening conditions and the onset of a storm.

Österberg’s late lap of 42.44sec also pushed Brent Dillard out of the running and into the Repecharge race on Sunday.

After a seven-minute break, Q2 ran for 15 minutes and the fastest 10 were then given a single run in a Q3 shoot-out to determine pole position. Ustinov hit the front with a 42.97sec run and that was the target through the first five minutes, as Al-Tayer and Al-Qemzi held fifth and 15th places.

Hagin moved to the front in 42.46sec but Al-Qemzi recorded a flying lap of 41.63sec to win the session. Sjöholm, Segenmark, Pettersson, Sanz and Österberg missed out on Q2 and Al-Tayer scraped through in seventh.

Comparato was the first of the 10 Q3 qualifiers on to the water for the two-lap shoot-out and the Italian posted a stunning target of 40.00sec.

Stefan Hagin was second quickest

Race promoter Sundsdal clocked a 41.03sec and Zandbergen ran a 41.22sec before Al-Tayer opened with a run of 41.56sec and improved with a 41.25sec.

Ustinov was next on to the water and the Russian clocked a best run of 40.59sec to move into second position.

Carlsen moved into a provisional fourth with a 41.16sec lap, but Hagin spun on his opening lap and then carded a time of 40.50sec to claim second place behind Comparato and then improved with a 40.35sec attempt.

Riabko (above) edged into third with a 40.46 and a best time of 40.72sec for last year’s pole winner Munthe-Kaas left the door open for Al-Qemzi to try and claim pole position for Team Abu Dhabi.

The defending champion opened with a run of 41.91sec and improved with a 41.00sec tour to qualify in sixth place and that confirmed pole position for a delighted Comparato.

2018 EDH Grand Prix of Norway – qualifying times:


1. Alberto Comparato (ITA) 40.00sec

2. Stefan Hagin (DEU) 40.35sec

3. Edgaras Riabko (LIT) 40.46sec

4. Konstantin Ustinov (RUS) 40.59sec

5. Tobias Munthe-Kaas (NOR) 40.72sec

6. Rashed Al-Qemzi (UAE) 41.00sec

7. Frode Sundsdal (NOR) 41.03sec

8. Christian Carlsen (NOR) 41.16sec

9. Ferdinand Zandbergen (NED) 41.22sec

10. Rashed Al-Tayer (UAE) 41.25sec


11. Bimba Sjöholm (SWE) 43.06sec

12. Daniel Segenmark (SWE) 43.21sec

13. Ola Pettersson (SWE) 43.34sec

14. Héctor Sanz (ESP) 43.72sec

15. Johan Österberg (SWE) 44.43sec


16. Brent Dillard (USA) 42.53sec

17. Owen Jelf (GBR) 42.65sec

18. Sebastian Haugaard (DNK) 42.91sec

19. Mansoor Al-Mansoori (UAE) 43.12sec

20. Mette Bjerknaes (NOR) 43.19sec

21. Alex Carella (ITA) 43.59sec

22. Nick Bisterfeld (DEU) 43.72sec

23. Rupert Temper (AUT) 44.16sec

24. Kalle Viippo (FIN) 44.47sec

24. Gavin Bricker (AUS) 44.47sec

26. Lars Erik Andresen (NOR) 46.74sec

27. Oskar Samuelsson (SWE) 1min 31.87sec

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
More on