Skip to main content
Maritimo take surprise XCAT win

Chris Davies on 2nd November 2019

Tom Barry-Cotter and Ross Willaton took a surprise win in the second of three XCAT races being held in Shanghai this weekend.

The Aussie team driving Maritimo, took the win thanks to a perfect long-lap strategy after starting from second on the grid.

Starting in pole position, Rashed Al Tayer and Majed Al Mansoori took second place in Abu Dhabi 5, with the Dubai Police combination of Arif Al Zaffain and Nadir Bin Hendi claiming the third podium place to grab a fragile lead in the XCAT title race.

Photo: Raffaello Bastiani

Reigning XCAT world champions, Shaun Torrente and Faleh Al Mansoori, finished 6th after being given a 60 second penalty for missing a long lap.

Torrente said after:

Some days you are the windshield and some days you are the bug, in yesterday’s race we had a good start and were happy with second.

Today however was another story.

We broke an oil pump in qualifying, the Abu Dhabi team worked their butts off and changed it and swapped Power-heads.

Unfortunately the motor still had an issue and was down 4-500 rpm all race.

We think we have it sorted so we can fight back tomorrow.

They now go into tomorrow’s third and final race of a frantic weekend two points behind Al Zaffain and Bin Hendi, meaning the championship looks poised for a thrilling finish in December’s final round in Dubai.

Photo: Raffaello Bastiani

2019 UIM XCAT World Championship - Shanghai Grand Prix - Race 2

#CountryBoat NameHulllDriverCo-DriverAverage Speed
AUSMaritimoMaritimoTom Barry-CotterRoss Willaton93.23 mph
5UAETeam Abu DhabiVictoryRashid Suhail Al Tayer Majed Saeed Al Mansoori92.60 mph
3 UAEDubai PoliceVictoryArif Al Zaffain Nadir Bin Hendi91.98 mph
96ITAHPI Racing TeamDoug WrightRosario Schiano Di ColaGiuseppe Schiano Di Cola88.88 mph
2 SWE Swecat RacingVictoryErik Stark Sebastian Groth88.25 mph
UAETeam Abu DhabiVictoryShaun TorrenteFaleh Al Mansoori 89.50 mph (60 second time penalty)
17 KUWKuwaitVictoryAbdullatif Al Omani Moustafa Al Dashti87.01 mph
10 ITA / AUS222 Offshore VictoryGiovanni CarpitellaDarren Nicholson 86.39 mph
20 ITADe MitriVictoryRoberto Lo Piano Mario Di Cosmo85.15 mph
9 RUSNew starVictoryMikhail KitashevDmitriy Vandyshev84.52 mph
22ITAVidexVictoryAlfredo Amatosaul Bubacco84.52 mph
46ESPConsulbrokersVictoryAndrea ComelloLuca Betti79.55 mph
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
More on