Skip to main content
Strong V8 Superboats field heads to Temora for ANZAC event

Sean Henshelwood on 21st April 2016
2016 Australian V8 Superboat Championships
Allcott Hire Park, Lake Centenary, Temora, NSW
21 April, 2016

A strong field of title contenders will converge on Allcott Hire Park at Lake Centenary in Temora on April 23, for the second round of the 2016 Australian V8 Superboats Championship for an ANZAC Memorial race, which will also feature the first round of the Colin Parish Memorial Trophy.

Three-time Australian Unlimited Superboat champion Phonsy Mullan leads the field, the Victorian looking for back-to-back wins in the 2016 championship after dominating the opening round at Griffith over the Easter weekend, although it took the RAMJET Racing driver two boats to finish the job after his legendary twin-turbo powered machine suffered a rare mechanical failure during qualifying.

Fortunately we had our 500ci V8 powered machine at the circuit so we just switched over some drive parts and carried on where we’d left off with the twin-turbo boat,Mullan explained.Ultimately the failure was very minor, just a head gasket which is rare, but had we carried on there could have been terminal damage to the engine, as it was, it was an easy fix and we’ll have the title winning boat back on the water for Temora.

The day-night event – which begins at 3:00pm on 23rd April (ANZAC weekend) – will see plenty of action, with a field of 21-boats entered including a number of former national champions, but sadly local hero and former world champion Slade Stanley won’t be part of the program, the Wagga-based builder unable to finish his new twin-turbo powered machine ahead of the second round.

We were so close, Stanley admitted with a tinge of disappointment. That’s racing though, the best laid plans often fall foul at the final hurdle, but the good news is, we’re so close to finishing the new ‘Hazardous’ package, that I’d be certain we’ll be a part of the program at Temora on the 21st of May.

Whilst Stanley won’t be in the field, former Group A champion Ted Sygidus will have his monstrous ‘Frankenzstain’ 680ci naturally-aspirated V8 Unlimited boat back on the water, handing driving duties of the team’s 510ci powered machine across to younger brother Darek.

They won’t be the only ones challenging Mullan for the win, with two-time Australian champion Daryl ‘Nutsy’ Hutton, ‘Excalibur’s’ Tony Giustozzi and Mick Carroll, and West Australian Jamie Welch all expected to be in the fight for victory this weekend.

And for the local fans, they’ll have plenty to cheer about too, with Temora’s Scott Krause making his second start in his impressive 372ci supercharged V8-powered ‘Soak’n Fused’, the local driver looking to make some improvements after his debut in the Unlimited Superboat class at Griffith, a debut which provided a number of wild rides..

Whilst the weekend will be run in memory of the ANZACs, the sport will also remember the man affectionately recognised as the ‘father’ of V8 Superboats, Wangaratta’s Colin Parish, who passed away earlier in the year.

In memory of the great man, the inaugural ‘Colin Parish Memorial Trophy’ will be awarded to the most consistent driver in the finals across the competing classes from both this weekend and the 21st of May race meeting at Temora, with a perpetual trophy and a $1000 cash prize awarded from SGA Engineering going the way of the winner.

Colin Parish meant a lot to the sport of V8 Superboats, as a former President, international delegate, and team manager, across the life of the sport to date,” Australian Formula Jet Sprint Association President Ted Sygidus reflected.“This weekend’s event provides us an opportunity to remember Col’s dedication and commitment to the sport – his impact on V8 Superboats very much shaped the way the sport is today, so it is only fitting that on this weekend of remembrance, we remember Col and what he meant to us as well.

Whilst the Unlimited Superboat class always provides plenty of action for the fans, the 2016 400 Class (Group A) is wide open this year, with the champions of the past few seasons taking a sabbatical from the championship this year, paving the way for a first-time title winner.

Former 350-Class champion Brooke Lucas is one of the favourites, but the laconic Queenslander failed to make the final in Griffith, handing the win to compatriot Brad Marsden, with another former 350 Class champion in Brett Thornton claiming second, but the sensation of the opening round was Victoria’s Ben Hathaway who claimed the win in the Sportsman ‘feeder’ category, and with it, third outright against the faster 400 Class boats..!

Watch out too for Forbes brothers Justin and Mitch Roylance, there will be no love lost between the siblings who are fiercely competitive, and both sporting new mounts. Justin Roylance was one of the standouts at Griffith in Mitch’s absence, and likely to give the crowd plenty to cheer about on Saturday night.

The second round of the Australian V8 Superboats Championship will be a day-night event at Lake Centenary in Temora, with gates opening and qualifying rounds getting underway from 3:00pm. The circuit is located at Lake Centenary, 3-kilometres north of Temora on Barmedman Road – diagonally opposite Temora Airport.

Gates open 3:00pm (Saturday), entry $25 (adults), $5 (kids), $50 (family pass)  – or, to buy tickets online, please visit Food and drinks will be available at the event, but strictly no glass.


Rnd#2 2016 Australian V8 Superboats Championships

Allcott Hire Park, Lake Centenary, Temora, NSW
 – 23 April, 2016


1. Phonsy Mullan/Kelsie Gill (RAMJET)
18. Paul Burgess/Matt Foote (Daly Transport)
22A. Jamie Welch/Joel Page (Natwel Racing)
22B. Cheryl Welch/Rachel Parsons (Natwel Racing)
28. Daryl Hutton/Mick Parry (American Importers)
37. Scott Krause/Carey Purcell (Soak’n Fused)
86. Daniel deVoigt/Vicki Burrell (Devo)
93A. Tony Giustozzi/tbc (Excalibur)
93B. Michael Carroll/tbc (Excalibur)
666. Ted Sygidus/tbc (Frankensztain)
999. Darek Sygidus/Austin Gill (Frankensztain Jnr.)
11. Brooke Lucas/Karrina White (Trouble Maker)
21. Mitch Roylance/Matt Hern (Black Jack)
33A. Jody Ely/Greg Blaz (Rampage)
33B. Justin Roylance/Joel Duggan (Rampage)
39. Kevin Laugesen/Jessica Winsley (spanet)
53. Brett Thornton/Lin Thornton (2Obsessed)
66. Brad Marsden/tbc (Allcott Transformer)
333. David Moody/tbc (Jackhammer)
360. Greg Harriman/Sammy Leonard (Pangaea Floors)
85. Ben Hathaway/Lisa Oppes (Weapon)
Saturday, 23 March;
3:00pm – Gates Open
3:00pm – Qualifying #1 (45-minutes)
3:45pm – Qualifying #2 (45-minutes)
4:30pm – Qualifying #3 (45-minutes)
5:15pm – dinner break (60-minutes)
6:15pm – Qualifying #4 (45-minutes)
7:00pm – Top 12 Final (all classes)
7:40pm – Top 6 Final (all classes)
8:20pm – FINAL (all classes)
2016 Australian V8 Superboat Championships – Series points

Unlimited Superboat (after round one of seven)
1. Phonsy Mullan (RAMJET) – 36 points, 2. Jamie Welch (Natwel Racing) – 33, 3. Darek Sygidus (Frankenstein) – 30, 4. Daryl Hutton (American Automotive) – 28, 5. Slade Stanley (Hazardous) – 26, 6. Ted Sygidus (Frankenstein) – 24, 7. Cheryl Welch (Natwel Racing) – 22, 8. Paul Burgess (Daly Transport) – 20, 9. Scott Krause (Soak’n Fused) – 18
400-Class (Group A) (after round one of seven)
1. Brad Marsden (Allcott Transformer) – 36 points, 2. Brett Thornton (2Obsessed) – 33, 3. Brooke Lucas (Trouble Maker) – 30, 4. Jody Ely (Rampage) – 28, 5. Dave Moody (Jackhammer) – 26, 6. Justin Roylance (Rampage) – 24, 7. Kevin Laugesen (Spanet) – 22
Sportsman (after round one of seven)
1. Ben Hathaway (Weapon) – 36
2016 Australian Superboat Championships
Rnd#1 – 26 March, Griffith (NSW)
Rnd#2 – 23 April, Temora (NSW) – ANZAC Day Tribute
Rnd#3 – 21 May, Temora (NSW)
Rnd#4 – 6-7 August, Tweed Coast (NSW)
Rnd#5 – 3-4 September, Tweed Coast (NSW)
Rnd#6 – 1 October, Temora (NSW)
Rnd#7 – 29 October, Temora (NSW) [FINAL]
Print Friendly, PDF & Email