Skip to main content
Team Abu Dhabi’s Rashid Al-Mulla extends Aquabike Freestyle lead

Chris Davies on 3rd June 2018

Team Abu Dhabi’s Rashid Al-Mulla made it four heat wins out of four and two Grand Prix victories in successive weekends with another impressive Freestyle performance in Moto 2 at the UIM-ABP Aquabike World Championship in the Grand Prix of the Mediterranean, late on Sunday afternoon in Olbia.

The 31-year-old Emirati was matched in terms of variety and quantity by world number one Roberto Mariani of Italy, but Al-Mulla outscored the defending champion on style, according to the panel of judges who watched the Freestyle entrants perform their spectacular routines on the water. Italy’s Alberto Camerlengo came in third and Russia’s Alexander Kuramshin was a close fourth.

Team Abu Dhabi’s Rashed Al-Tayer couldn’t follow up his impressive Moto 1 performance with a repeat result in Moto 2 and was unable to add to his points tally in a second Runabout GP1 scrap that was won by Hungarian racer Gyorgy Kasza from Frenchman Jeremy Perez and Kuwait’s Yousef Al-Abdulrazzaq.

Perez was given the overall GP victory, courtesy of the 45 points he scored for a first and second-placed finish in the two heats. Kasza finished second and Al-Tayer amassed 13 points for his fourth overall in Moto 1 to finish the weekend in seventh place.

Action in the UIM-ABP Aquabike World Championship resumes in Nansha, China, on September 14-16.

2018 UIM-ABP Grand Prix of the Mediterranean – Freestyle Moto 2 result

1. Rashid Al-Mulla (UAE) 93pts

2. Roberto Mariani (ITA) 82pts

3. Alberto Camerlengo (ITA) 60pts

4. Alexander Kuramshin (RUS) 59pts

2018 UIM-ABP World Championship – current Freestyle standings

1. Rashid Al-Mulla (UAE) 100pts

2. Roberto Mariani (ITA) 80pts

3. Alberto Camerlengo (ITA) 59pts

4. Alexander Kuramshin (RUS) 51pts

5. Paolo Nunes (PRT) 39pts

2018 UIM-ABP Grand Prix of the Mediterranean – Runabout GP1 overall result (Moto 1 and Moto 2)

1. Jeremy Perez (FRA) 45pts

2. Gyorgy Kasza (HUN) 41pts

3. Yousef Al-Abdulrazzaq (KUW) 36pts

4. Dmitry Tsukov (RUS) 23pts

7. Rashid Al-Tayer (UAE) 13pts

Print Friendly, PDF & Email