Skip to main content
Victory 3 fastest in UIM Class 1 Kilo run

Chris Davies on 23rd November 2016

The exciting concept of a Kilo Run gave teams a break from competing in three races for the UIM Class 1 World Powerboat Championship title at the Abu Dhabi Breakwater on Wednesday afternoon.

It followed an action-packed morning’s practice session which included a spectacular crash for Team Abu Dhabi 5’s Rashed Al-Tayer and Majed Al-Mansoori

With races two and three in the UIM Class 1 World Championship scheduled for Thursday and Friday, officials at the Abu Dhabi International Marine Sports Club (ADIMSC) included the Kilo Run in the timetable.

Boats ran in reverse order from how they finished pole position qualifying on Tuesday and their maximum speed was measured by radar between a designated buoy and a gate. Each boat was permitted three runs to determine their highest speed.

Victory 3’s Arif Saif Al-Zafeen and Nadir Bin Hendi left it until their third run to confirm victory.

They ran an opener of 137mph to cancel out Team Abu Dhabi 6’s first run of 134mph, but John Tomlinson and Gary Ballough hit back with a 139mph second run with the pair of Mercury QC4 turbocharged V8’s rev limiters set at 6,350rpm.

Victory 3’s second attempt was deemed null and void after the Dubai crew passed the wrong side of the flying finish gate. Team Abu Dhabi 6 couldn’t better their 139mph attempt with a final run of 137mph, however, and that opened the door for Victory to snatch the win with a flying final sprint of 142mph, the Victory V12s screaming their way down the straight.

Nico Huybens and Daniel Cramphorn had been the first on the water in Aquasport 99 and laid down the gauntlet with a speed of 132mph on their first run.

They clocked 130 on run two and then an engine issue meant that they missed run three and needed to be towed back to the pontoon.

Italian Giovanni Carpitella and Britain’s Ian Blacker suffered an engine issue from the start in Relekta 91 and clocked runs of 123mph and 122mph before aborting their final run to return to the pits in fourth place.

2016 UIM Class 1 World Championship – Kilo Run result (Wednesday):

1. Victory 3 – Arif Saif Al-Zafeen (UAE)/Nadir Bin Hendi (UAE) – 142mph

2. Team Abu Dhabi 6 – John Tomlinson (USA)/Gary Ballough (USA) – 139mph

3. Aquasport 99 – Nick Huybens (BEL)/Daniel Cramphorn (GBR) – 132mph

4. Zabo Racing-Relekta 91 – Giovanni Carpitella (ITA)/Ian Blacker (GBR) – 123mph

Team Abu Dhabi 5 – Rashed Al-Tayer (UAE)/Majed Al-Mansoori (UAE) – DNS


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
More on