Skip to main content
Gillman Racing confirms new driver lineup – Australian Grant Trask to replace Alec Weckstrom

Frode Sundsdal on 2nd March 2023

30 minutes after we posted the story of a potential new driver lineup for Gillman Racing it was confirmed on the official F1h2o website.

Official press release : Australian racer Grant Trask will replace Finland’s Alec Weckström in the Mad-Croc Gillman Racing team in advance of the second round of the UIM F1H2O World Championship in Zhengzhou on April 28th-30th.


Team manager Scott Gillman, himself a four-time World Champion, said:


“We welcome Grant Trask to take over driving for the Mad-Croc Gillman Racing Team and we would like to thank Alec Weckström for being a part of our team.”


Trask last raced in the F1H2O discipline back in 2017 and 2018 with Duarte Benavente as part of the F1 Atlantic Team and with the EMIC Racing team alongside Marit Strømøy. Ivan Brigada and Mike Szymura in 2016. His best finish was 13th in the 2017 Drivers’ Championship.

The Australian became a third-generation member of the Trask family to race in the championship, following on from his father and his uncle, before making his racing debut in 2016. He has already taken part in 15 Grand Prix with a best finishing position of sixth.


Trask started racing in 2005 and won the Rookie of the Year trophies in both the Australian F3 and F2 Championships. He then went on to win the 2006 F3 Championship and the F2 series in 2007 and 2008.


After a three-year hiatus to concentrate on business commitments, he returned to finish inside the top three in the Australian F1, 2000cc, FO and Unlimited Outboard Championships for four years, the highlight being the outright 2016 Unlimited Outboard Championship title.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

More related articles

More on